Otter.ai: security & AI-training scorecard
otter.ai ↗ · AI notetaker · Last checked Oct 16, 2026
Does Otter.ai train AI on customer data?
Yes“Improve and monitor the Services, including training our proprietary AI technology on de-identified audio recordings and on transcriptions (which may contain Personal Information)”
Note: No opt-out wording found in fetched text.
SOC 2
Independent audit of security controls. Type II covers operating effectiveness over a period.
SOC 2 (type not stated)
“SOC 2”
Note: Trust center lists SOC 2 and a SOC 2 Report; type not stated on public page.
ISO/IEC 27001
Certified information security management system.
Not verified from vendor-owned sources
Note: Not listed in trust center compliance section.
No vendor source found as of check date.
HIPAA / BAA
Whether the vendor will sign a Business Associate Agreement for PHI.
HIPAA listed; BAA not confirmed
“HIPAA”
GDPR DPA
Data Processing Agreement/Addendum for personal data.
GDPR listed; DPA not confirmed
“GDPR”
Trains AI on customer data
Whether the vendor says it uses customer data to train AI models.
Yes
“Improve and monitor the Services, including training our proprietary AI technology on de-identified audio recordings and on transcriptions (which may contain Personal Information)”
Note: No opt-out wording found in fetched text.
Data retention
What the vendor publishes about how long customer data is kept.
As necessary to provide services per agreements
“When providing our Services as a data processor, we process and retain Personal Information as necessary to provide our Services as permitted in our agreements, or as required or permitted under applicable law.”
Subprocessor list
Where the vendor lists third parties that process customer data.
All sources checked (3)
Fetched on Oct 16, 2026. Vendor pages can change after this date.
Is this wrong? / Claim this listing
Vendors and readers can send evidence links. Nothing is published without a source.
Informational only, not legal advice or an audit. Summaries reflect Otter.ai's published pages as of Oct 16, 2026; verify with the vendor. Methodology & disclaimer.